New Year, New Goal – Unofficial Resolution for 2014

It’s a new year, full of new possibilities, new challenges, new avenues for failures and successes alike. I’m fully aware of these, and I’m scared as hell about it, but I’m gonna try to do something anyways. I’m scared, but ambitious and persistent, if any play-fights with my brother says anything. I’m gonna start a business.

It’s almost unheard of from an introvert, who’s biggest social event is hosting a sleepover with people she’s known since she was 7. But fact is, I’m old enough to try something a bit grown up like this. I’ve got the knowledge, I’ve got the resources – or access to them anyways, and I’m getting the training.

So what is this far-out business idea? I’m aiming to own and manage my own translation company. And why not? Even with the increasing access to translation software being made free and accessible online, it doesn’t mean that everyone will be fluent in a language. And if you know me, you’ll know that I’ll give you an impromptu lecture about how and why this isn’t so.

Indeed, it is a little far-fetched. There is very little going for me right now. But I do intend to correct that. I’m learning the art, and the science (and the vocabulary) behind it. Ideally, I will grow it. And then, with a growing clientèle and  a growing reputation, I’ll be more confident in recruiting partners with fluency in other languages. I do know quite a few of them.

But before we get to the idealistic, let’s get a little realistic. There’s a lot to do in terms of planning, and promoting, and finances. I want these to be sorted out or at least, started on, by the end of January. 

So allons-y and Vamos. 

Let’s get this started right.

Leave a Reply

