Percy Jackson and the Fandom

image

In this world today that is so influenced by movies, TV, young adult novels, videogames, and the like, it’s easier than ever for everyone (not just teenagers as random Tumblr posts would have you believe) to get involved with fandoms. Parents and children alike argue about Game of Thrones, book vs TV, house against house, blabbity blah blah, and then there are the Sherlock vs Sherlock Holmes vs Holmes, the Potterheads, the Dragon Trainers ( what do you can the fans of HTTYD?), the Hunters, the Bros, the Whovians, the Olympians- it just goes on.

It all goes past the page/screen. It enters our lives otherwise. My brother and I do mini RPGs pretending to be Deadpool and Bob, the Doctor and his Companions, Sam and Dean… It’s odd,  but it’s fun and it draws us together. So really, you can’t say that there isn’t at least one good thing to come out of fandoms. Because that’s what fandoms do, amiright? It draws us together by that one thing that we like (actors and fans alike). It gives people a sense of belonging that society would otherwise fail to do. So yeah, it’s always been important to society and people have a reason to be glad that the fandom culture had exploded the way it has.

But as a Christian, it can prove to be problematic, if you know you want to grow in your faith and you know that you’re still not quite there yet. Which is why I applaud Vic Mignogna, for being such a fanboy while still maintaining his faith, sure of himself in God, and is more than proud to say it.

I have no idea where this revelation came from or why it did, but it’s been in my head for a while now.

I was reading Sea of Monsters in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I’m a fan of it, and I loved the spinoffs and found that the movies didn’t do it justice. Just as an aside. But yeah, like I said, I was reading the book, and after I’m, of course, acting it out as I always do, pretending to be one of the characters. Thing is, to do that I have to have a Godly Parent. Depending on my mood it could be anyone really, I have at least 12 to choose from. (Hurrdihurrhurr). But this time, and a few times after it bothered me, and the words thou shall have no other gods before Me kept popping into my head.

Look, it’s just a game, right?

Maybe not. Another time, couldn’t bring myself to act it out; again thou shall have no other gods before Me. One time after I managed to act it out (Iris, communication goddess, lahdidah) it felt wrong – not because I thought once more of that command. Nope. More like, I had thought nothing of it, and I understood how easy it is to break, and how easy I was breaking it, without a second thought.

And then, and now, I’m wondering just how many false gods we’ve – read “I’ve” – picked up because of fandoms. Quite a bit. Quite a bit. Huh…

It’s something we, as Christians, have to consider. The world is around us, and we will see something we like in it. We may strive to be Christ-like, but we are still human. This is one of those times where we have to be in the world, not of it. We may like something, but we have to be careful not to let it become a god in our lives.

You shall have no other Gods before Me
– Exodus 20:3

You shall have no other Gods before Me
– Deuteronomy 5:7 (Bible gateway has or besides as a footnote for both verses in the NIV)

It’s there, twice. Has to be way important for it to be mentioned more than once

(Edit: For more check out what Mark Slick has to say about False Gods )

– K. ~

Leave a Reply

