Baby Sign Language- What’s the Deal?

being frankenfield

When I was pregnant with Ian, I did a lot of reading about baby sign language.  I had friends who had done sign language with their kids and swore that it was an extremely useful tool for aiding in communication.  It made sense to me- babies and young toddlers can’t talk, but they still have needs to be met.  If you don’t have to guess at their needs, the frustration level all around should go down.  Makes sense in theory, but does it really work?

The short answer… yes.

So you might be wondering- how?!  How do I go about teaching this little baby (who can barely sit upright) how to sign?  And is it worth it?

I’ll start with answering the “is it worth it?” question.  Yes, yes, a thousand times yes!  I won’t say that our ability to communicate with sign language eliminated all of our melt downs…

View original post 610 more words

2 thoughts on “Baby Sign Language- What’s the Deal?

    • No problem! I really liked it. First language acquisition is an interest of mine. And you present first hand experience in sign language acquisition as a first language. I hope y’all continue signing with him, cuz he’s a brilliant little boy

Leave a Reply

