First post for 2015 – kind of mad about it.

I’d really rather my first post for the New Year not be something as trivial as boy trouble, but there it is. Happy New Year by the way.

But as it stands. There it is.

Not that it has anything to do with my boy. He’s not mine. We haven’t yet been on a date although we do have it carded.

I suppose it’s my fault. Not suppose. It is. First, I joined Tinder… That should have been the first clue. Second, I initiated the idea and humoured it, even setting the date.

He’s an great guy, and under any other circumstance, we’d probably be friends.

But under any other circumstance, I’d not consider him as a potential boyfriend. (Although given my track record… Maybe finding a boyfriend should go back to bring secondary to everything. I go into full Mabel Pines in Summer Romance mode. It’s probably unhealthy.)

Be ye not unequally yoked.

Constantly thinking about this. Especially now. And every other time I consider the idea of me and anyone. I’ve even blatantly told someone that. Can’t because I don’t want to change and while he wouldn’t mind, his mother would, and I’d want him to change and his mother would mind, and stress. Maybe it would have happened that he converted, but I haven’t seen evidence of that ever happening when a girl married into a family of a different religion to hers. But I’m young yet, maybe it has, maybe it hasn’t.

Yeah.

So old boy done, new boy issue.

Raised Catholic with a Muslim parent. So his religious background is stressful as is. And confusing, and I’m supposing off-putting because when the conversation went to religion, he didn’t linger.

I’m Pentecostal, raised in it, but staying in it, even with Presbyterian influence from school. In terms of other religions, I have friends of a healthy mix of them,  but I think that’s easier to let slide than a potential Significant Other.

Now I prolly shouldn’t consider him anywhere near a prospect because we’ve had a total of four convos, all on WhatsApp and Tinder, and none face to face. But still.

I guess I fear that being raised with two different religious backgrounds available to him, and no definitive direction one way or the other, as well as the fact that both backgrounds are so distant to mine, and knowing  that I will not change to either or renounce all three should we start a relationship – it is going to cause problems sooner or later and it will be religious or pertaining to God, and me being as chronically anti-confrontational and random outbursts…… Yeah not gonna be nice.

Liberals will say that religion shouldn’t matter, as long as there is a connection. Conservatives will say that I should give it more thought. I see the sense in both.

But what does God say about this?

“Approach with caution but know my Word”?

That seems like good enough advice.

But what is the Word?

“Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness?”

II Corinthians 6:14

I feel like I need more. An explanation, maybe? A complementary verse? 

As a young Christian woman, how do I approach relationships?

And as someone who didn’t care before, why am I starting now?

Leave a Reply

