‘Nother food post! – two for one special

Yeah, so it’s been a while. Mainly cuz I haven’t been making anything, or really, eating anything. I’ve been mostly snacking on cereal for the past week.

Yesterday though, since my parents took the day, and my brother decided to stay home, we did a spin on our typical home alone food routine.

Forty minutes total walking to and from the grocery for a ramen run where we binge on different instant ramen bricks and cups.

But yesterday we were too lazy to be bothered, and in as much as I really wanted ramen even under my ban, I decided to make my own, instead of just talking about doing it.

It’s pretty easy and a single serving of this could go far. We made it twice, which was our mistake. Unlike the instant noodles, these are extremely filling. Seriously. One serving is good for two people, maybe three. The second time I doubled the recipe. That was a mistake.

Again, I tweaked the recipe.

They suggest a mix of high gluten and low gluten flours, but they also said all purpose could be used. So I did. The rest, there was no need to substitute.

I have to learn how to cut it thinner though, cuz it came out looking like fettuccine.

The soup: instead of just boiling the noodles prior to making it, I prepared a stock with oregano, thyme, mint, (from mommy’s garden) red pepper flakes, maybe a 1/2 tsp oyster sauce and a dash of Worcestershire sauce. Nothing else was really added to it, although my brother put Vienna sausages in his own when it was done. Must boil as the recipe calls et voilà! Homemade ramen.

Today I went to school to sort out what we can expect for the new semester. Opposite the school, ( obliquely?) there is this gourmet bakery that caters to gluten free diets. Everything is made on site, and it’s pretty good.

Hella expensive though. Over $100 TT for hummus, two scones and a loaf of multi grain bread. (Exchange rate is 6.35TTD to 1.00 USD) But I  suppose it was worth it. (Bread alone was $60)

While I was in school doing my business, parents went to the upmarket (once a month, local fare on sale. It’s awesome ) Of course Mommy went straight for trinkets while Daddy went for food. We have pepper chow. It’s five kinds of pepper  and all kinds of hot. Love it.

And that was lunch. Hummus, bread, pepper chow, tuna and tomatoes, salad. Healthy, filling, very low gluten, protein, carbs, fats, fibre. What else does that meal offer? We get it.

Good thing about this is that now that I know everyone will eat it, I can actually try my hand at hummus so we don’t have to spend money on something that’s easy enough to prepare home.

– Kaye~

Leave a Reply

