Veggie Patty! -Sacrilege!

I made this edible, almost passable, sacrilegious veggie burger patty and it is delish!

It’s pretty sick  that I’m basically going against everything I’ve been taught by my father about the wonder that is meat.  I’m proud of myself for deciding to do what I do, even if it doesn’t necessarily help me healthwise (although, honestly, I’m praying to God, that this helps. Not an exaggeration either, I’m serious here.)

I live in a house that’s more readily stocked with meat and meat-containing products and it is more likely to find containers of meat, already seasoned and ready to cook  that it is to find…. just about anything.

That’s our house – meat and books. Books and meat. It’s great.

So when my father heard I was making burger patties and then realizing that I was going against the good that is the Meat Burger – his face lit up and fell faster than getting a revive in a game only to be burned to death by Sephiroth because of course his attacks take up the damn area. (I really miss Kingdom Hearts)

But the burger patty mixture was alright. I ate three today. :3

Of course I tweaked the recipe. I honestly tried to follow this recipe. I did. But then I lacked parsley. And three eggs seemed like a lot. And I really wanted it to taste at least a little bit like Daddy’s beef burgers, because I can’t stress enough how much I love it. But red meat is bad when you have PCOS, so not gonna have alot of that. :/

I ditched the salsa. I really just wanted the patties. That’s it.

1 1/2 cups water -used
1/2 cup dried lentils -used
Cooking spray -Sub with olive oil
1 cup chopped onion $  -used 
1/4 cup grated carrot $ -used 
2 teaspoons minced garlic – grated.
2 tablespoons tomato paste $ – pureed like four whole tomatoes
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin – tossed that baby in sans care (there was care – but it really was kinda plenty)
3/4 teaspoon dried oregano -fresh, two sprigs
1/2 teaspoon chili powder – lacked
3/4 teaspoon salt, divided – no average or measuring
3/4 cup cooked pearl barley  -used
1/2 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs) -Sub with whole grain crackers rolled out
1/4 cup finely chopped fresh parsley – lacked, ignored
1/2 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper- tossed that baby in sans care
2 large egg whites $ – nope
1 large egg $ – used
Also some Worcershire sauce, Chief lime hot sauce, and Oyster sauce. And veggie stock that i made for something or other to cook the barley after it was boiled in the water.
That’s all I used. Everything was prepared and cooked today, cuz no leftover barley!
Need to tweak this again or try other veggie burger recipes, but for a first, it didn’t come out too bad.
Leave a Reply

