My crochet is my testimony now

image

This pair is special to me. It’s not the first pair I’ve actually done. It’s the first pair I sold. Posted pricing as a half joke, now I’m gathering clients with these. I’m happy, because, as small as it is, as trivial a thing it is, even though, I’m basically even more indebted to my parents for funding yet another thing for me, this is the kind of thing I hadn’t seen myself doing even a month ago. Even while attending a business workshop, I half considered doing this, but i pushed it aside in favour of using my Spanish skills. I focused on starting my translation firm. I’m still thinking about it. That’s what I wanted to do, and I worked way hard earning those skills.

But until I get something a little more permanent and steady, I’m happy for this pair. It may not be the firm I want, but it’s still something I can start with.

Still it’s a little more than that. Using a self-taught hobby to earn my own money, and to see myself reaping the benefits, it’s satisfying. And I thank God for that. Not saying that I heard a voice that said that I, Kayleigh, must forget my studies and forget everything to start a crochet business. 

Rather, I think it’s more like, He sent the right people at the right time. To get me talking. To get me to go to a workshop that, on that day, I was more than prepared to ditch and continue living under a rock. To ask for help, to accept it, use it, and produce something from it. To accept rejection a little more maturely than I would have before. To show me elements of myself that I couldn’t or didn’t want to see. To make me reevaluate myself, to actually go out and use the skills that I have, or want to have, to some end.

A touch from God may not always be big and rescuing. But it’s always life changing.

This is why these simple little crochet studs are special to me. They don’t just represent a means of earning my own money. They milestoned a touch from God that I will forever be grateful for.

– Kaye~

2 thoughts on “My crochet is my testimony now

Leave a Reply

