Sometimes I’m glad I’m a geekgirl.

When it comes to Bible reading, it’s a little daunting. From language, to context, to what the heck does that mean!, to avoiding bugs that come to my screen and have me failing madly to get these phytophiles away from me, to just about any distraction possible. Including blogging I suppose.

This is one time I’m glad I widened my fandom space.

I like Star Trek well enough. I’m a TNG girl. I’m not ashamed 😄

But I did once read something along the lines of if the Enterprise gets repaired multiple times along the journey it’s making across the universe is it the same ship as when it started? How many USS Enterprise- D’s did Picard actually captain before D was destroyed?

Oddly, reading Romans 6, this analogy came back to me, and, dare I say, that it helped me get some of it? Help me if I’m off, though, this is just how I could best put my understanding. It’s a weird way to do it, but still.

Romans 6:2 … How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein?

The Enterprise-D that set out from Earth was not necessarily the same one at the end of TNG.

In the same way, we are not the same person we were before we believed and were baptised in faith.

People see the Enterprise-D, but acknowledge that it may not have it’s original parts – that it is essentially a different ship with the same name. We’re the same. When you give your life to Christ, those old parts die away. Our old parts – habits, thoughts, what have you – dead, gone, obsolete, no longer there to cause us problems. Like the repaired Enterprise-D, we’re newer, better, more alive and functioning in Christ. Our old bodies in Sin are no more.

Romans6:7 For he that is dead is freed from sin.6:6 Knowing this, that our old man is crucified with him, that the body of sin might be destroyed, that henceforth we should not serve sin.6:3 Know ye not, that so many of us as were baptized into Jesus Christ were baptized into his death?6:4 Therefore we are buried with him by baptism into death: that like as Christ was raised up from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life.6:5 For if we have been planted together in the likeness of his death, we shall be also in the likeness of his resurrection:6:11 Likewise reckon ye also yourselves to be dead indeed unto sin, but alive unto God through Jesus Christ our Lord.6:10 For in that he died, he died unto sin once: but in that he liveth, he liveth unto God.6:9 Knowing that Christ being raised from the dead dieth no more; death hath no more dominion over him.6:8 Now if we be dead with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with him:

Of course, like the Enterprise-D, aren’t we prone to failure? Machines and systems fail, problems arise and repairs are needed again.

We, as humans are also prone to failure.

Romans6:19 I speak after the manner of men because of the infirmity of your flesh: for as ye have yielded your members servants to uncleanness and to iniquity unto iniquity; even so now yield your members servants to righteousness unto holiness.

Still. We’re not a machine.

We’re given a chance. We’re admittedly imperfect. We falter. We fail. Sin is in our nature.

Romans 6:12 Let not sin therefore reign in your mortal body, that ye should obey it in the lusts thereof.

However, we’re given that chance for redemption. For grace. For someone to fix our faulty bits if we let it be known and trust Him.  And trust calls for belief in Him. 

Grace restores, renews, makes whole. We’re not the same afterward. We’re completely different by the end of our journey.

Neither was the Enterprise at the end of the series. She had a good repairman.

– Kaye~

Leave a Reply

